It’s all about the poop

Too much

Too little

Funny color

Funny smell

Too runny

Too thick

Too often

Not enough

You name the problem and us moms can relate it to poop. Actually, I feel proud every time my little guy goes (evidently one of the many odd things about motherhood). But this post is not about baby’s poop. Its about mom’s poop. None of the books discuss this very important issue.

I’ve ALWAYS been very regular and well, enjoyed pooping. That is until after my c-section. It took me days to even pass my first “bowel movement”. And when I did – whew…. it was something to write home about (not that I wanted to ever think about it again). I assumed that this is where the “fun” ended and that everything would go back to normal (after all, I’d been taking stool softeners). But I was sorely mistaken.

As the weeks passed and I worried about my baby’s poop and tried to not think about the pain from my own (oh yeah – pain and bleeding. It truly felt like I was pooping baseballs), I began to dread this once enjoyable activity. I was too embarrassed to ask anyone (what if it was hemorrhoids?!? I didn’t have them during pregnancy or delivery. So, why now? ) I mean, I couldn’t find anything on the Internet about it – I MUST be a freak. Finally I called my doctor who simply said that I had torn my butt. AHHHHHH. And that I should eat more fiber. No sh*t Sherlock (pardon the pun).

After many meals of Fiber One and no improvement, I brought it up with my sister-in-law. She recommended changing my vitamin. I was still taking my prenatal that was chocked full of iron. Ah Ha. The moment I switched – the problem was solved. I still eat Fiber One – it’s delicious and well, just in case. I also brought it up at my mother’s group and discovered that I was far from being alone.

So, all moms know that it’s all about the poop.

3 Comments

Filed under mom

3 responses to “It’s all about the poop

  1. I’ve got two syllables for you, sister:

    Co – Lace.

    Behind the counter at your local CVS.

    Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. It’s a miracle drug.

  2. Obviously, you need to watch this.

    Scrubs: “Everything Comes Down to Poo”

  3. gretaherb

    Great clip. Very funny!

Leave a Reply

